Palm Springs City Council Member Christy Holstege seeks Inland Assembly seat – San Bernardino Sun

A Palm Springs City Council Member and former mayor plans to run for a new Assembly district that includes parts of Redlands, Yucaipa, Highland, and San Jacinto along with the San Gorgonio Pass.

Democrat Christy Holstege wants to represent California’s 47th Assembly District, which took shape in the recent round of legislative redistricting. The new district includes much of the territory represented by Assembly Member Chad Mayes, an independent who does not plan to seek re-election in 2022.

In a phone interview Monday, Jan. 31, Holstege said she’s running for Assembly “because we need a champion for our region and for Inland California.”

The Inland region is “the future of California” and hasn’t gotten its fair share of state resources, Holstege said. As a Palm Springs council member, she said she has “a track record of getting results” on issues like infrastructure, education access, protecting communities against the effects of climate change and housing affordability.

“I have the experience to get results while representing us in Sacramento,” Holstege said.

The 47th also includes Cathedral City, Desert Hot Springs, Indian Wells, La Quinta, Palm Springs and Palm Desert. About 39% of the district’s voters are registered Democrats, compared to 34% for Republicans, according to Political Data, Inc.

Holstege, who is bisexual, was first elected to Palm Springs’ council in 2017 and made history as part of the first all-LGBTQ council to represent a U.S. city. She became Palm Springs’ first female mayor and served in that role in 2021.

Holstege, a lawyer, established a legal aid clinic for domestic violence survivors in the Coachella Valley’s only domestic violence shelter and has represented farmworkers in civil rights, employment and housing matters, according to her city biography.

The 47th is on the ballot in the June 7 primary election. The top two vote-getters, regardless of party, will advance to the November general election with the winner receiving a two-year term.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *