Here are this year’s San Bernardino County Education Medal of Honor winners – San Bernardino Sun

This year’s San Bernardino County Education Medal of Honor and and Distinguished Service Award winners were recognized this spring at a meeting of the San Bernardino County School Boards Association.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals for exceptional leadership and significant contributions to public education in the county, according to a news release.

This year’s Distinguished Service Award went to Henry D. Shannon, superintendent and president of Chaffey College; and Adrienne Shepherd-Myles, career technical education program manager at Desert/Mountain SELPA (Special Education Local Plan Area).

The Education Medal of Honor recognizes outstanding contributions to public education by volunteers and service groups, business and government partners, educators and alumni.

Following are this year’s Education Medal of Honor recipients, in six categories.

The Excellence in Education/Education Professional award went to Donna E. St. George, teacher and coach emerita of Redlands Unified School District, nominated by the Redlands Unified School District.

The Excellence in Education/Student Alumni award went to Phyllis Morris-Green, community activist and Victor Valley High School graduate, nominated by Adelanto Elementary School District.

The Partners in Education/Corporation or Government Agency award went to the city of Fontana Mayor’s Education Coalition, nominated by the city of Fontana.

The Partners in Education/Small Business or Franchise award went to Toyota Motor North America, Arturo Esquivel, warehouse operations manager, nominated by Ontario-Montclair School District.

The Volunteer in Action/Community Volunteer award went to Alexander Mattison, Minnesota Vikings running back, nominated by San Bernardino City Unified School District.

The Volunteer in Action/Service Group award went to Millionaire Mind Kids, Delores Williams, founder, president and chief executive officer, nominated by Adelanto Elementary School District.

The awards ceremony, sponsored by the San Bernardino County School Boards Association and San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools, was held April 28 on YouTube, and the video is available at

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *